It’s important to note that only medical marijuana patients can legally possess marijuana CBD oil in Arkansas. Possession for recreational purposes remains illegal and is charged with various punishments, from fines to even 10 years in prison.
Update: We no longer recommend purchasing CBD oil locally due to contaminated and untested CBD oils being sold in Arkansas stores.
Therefore, there are different regulations on marijuana and hemp CBD oil in Arkansas.
Best CBD Oil Stores in Camden
If you are interested in learning more, read our guide on buying CBD near you.
As for buying CBD oil in Arkansas, things are complicated than in other, more cannabis-friendly states. However, that doesn’t mean you can’t buy CBD oil there; in fact, it’s fairly easy if you’re familiar with the state’s law regarding hemp and marijuana.
There is nothing wrong with shopping in a good ol’ way. You know, walk out of your apartment, take a deep breath, and head in search of CBD goods around your city – it sounds like a plan, doesn’t it?
In case you haven’t heard, the CBD oil industry is one of the fastest-developing health and wellness markets in the world. CBD oil, which contains cannabidiol (the non-psychoactive compound of the cannabis plant), is available in all 50 U.S. states and over 40 countries, contributing to the whole hemp industry with $500 million in annual imports. Most experts predict that these numbers will continue to rise as more states are joining the legalization bandwagon.
Arkansas State also runs a medical marijuana program for qualifying to enlist with a licensed physician’s recommendation. However, it is illegal to be in possession of marijuana for recreational purposes with or without a medical marijuana ID card. You could attract offense penalties that go up to 10 years in prison and hefty fines. As of 2018, 5085 patients have registered for the medical marijuana program in Arkansas.
Arkansas hasn’t been a cannabis-friendly state for a while now. However, you can quickly obtain hemp-derived CBD products in the state thanks to the federal CBD laws outlined in the 2018 Farm Bill.According to federal laws, Arkansas defines cannabis as plants that have more than 0.3% THC and marijuana and hemp as the plants containing less than 0.3% THC. A new legislation, House Bill 1518, was passed in 2019 that removed products derived from hemp plants from Arkansas’s list of controlled substances.
The bill removed all forms of hemp-derived CBD from Arkansas’s list of controlled substances. It also included CBD products that aren’t approved by the FDA. The bill has made the CBD market in the state less restrictive compared to federal rules.
Is CBD Legal in Arkansas?
With CBD establishing itself as an industry of its own and growing vastly in the health and wellness market, it is natural for state residents to wonder where one could easily score this compound praised for having many health benefits.
Very simply, yes!
However, always make sure that the reports on the website aren’t too old. Ensure that the CBD product has been made from 100% Organic Industrial Hemp to be completely safe, and the extraction method used is preferably CO2 extraction.
Arkansas, commonly referred to as the Natural State, is well known for its beautiful green pastures of land. However, are all-natural products in the state, especially CBD, legal?
This House Bill 1778 led to the formation of the Arkansas Industrial Hemp Act and the start of a research program. The law was written by David Hillman, a Representative, to encourage studies on the various economic advantages of industrial hemp production in Arkansas. In April 2017, the bill passed and became a law. Hillman essentially based the law on the hemp research program of the state of Kentucky.
Based on the Arkansas Department of Agriculture, interested industrial hemp processors and growers need to submit a few things:
House Bill 1518
Apart from the licensing fee, the department requests applicants to pay program fees before issuing licenses. When it comes to approved growers, they often send an invoice for their applied acreage charging $100 for each greenhouse and a $100 GPS verification fee for every location ID.
In the state of Arkansas, there are, at the time of this writing, 30+ licensed dispensaries. Yet, not all of them are currently operating. If there is not a licensed dispensary nearby, you can get CBD in other places like vape stores and health shops. The most convenient way to buy CBD in Arkansas is via an online dispensary. Generally, users may compare different products from their homes’ comfort.
Which one is best for you? That depends on your particular goals. For example, oils are for those that want to feel CBD’s therapeutic effects rather fast. Here are some of the things to bear in mind when looking for top-quality CBD products: