Posted on

cbd oil laws in louisiana

In 2019, a bill (HB 358) was signed by Rep. Ted James that may allow some patients to inhale medical marijuana through special devices. It would function like an asthma inhaler and deliver a measurable dose of medical marijuana. Although this isn’t perfect, it’s a step in the right direction.

Once you have a state-approved doctor’s recommendation, you can simply head down to one of Louisiana’s nine approved dispensaries.

In 2014, Louisiana introduced Senate Bill 541, which would have provided the framework for producing and dispensing medical marijuana for those in need. The bill was shut down by the Senate health committee in a vote of 6-2.

Recommended CBD Retailers in Louisiana

Act 261 was passed in 2015, which allowed Louisiana physicians to prescribe marijuana.

Without a doctors recommendation, marijuana-derived CBD oils are illegal to possess in Louisiana. This is mainly due to the THC content of marijuana-derived oils.

What are the marijuana laws in Louisiana?

If you don’t see your city on this list, make sure you check online. There are many trustworthy suppliers for all of your CBD needs!

There is increasing support for the decriminalization and legalization of cannabis in the entire United States. The Marijuana Opportunity Reinvestment and Expungement (MORE) Act in 2019 could change the legality of recreational marijuana in Louisiana. Whether recreational marijuana would be fully legal or not would depend on the US Congress for now.

Fred Mill’s efforts paid off, as Louisiana Governor Bobby Jindal passed Senate Bill 143 into law in 2015. Mills sponsored the bill, which aimed to establish a proper framework for the production, distribution, and prescription of medical marijuana in Louisiana. It also authorized the use of one cultivation site and ten dispensaries for the production of medical marijuana in the state. It also defined that list of ailments that would allow you to use it, and the acceptable forms of marijuana.

So, is CBD legal in Louisiana? The Controlled Substances Act in 1970 affected The Pelican State (and every state). This act criminalized the possession and distribution of several narcotics in the United States, including marijuana. Because federal laws trump state laws, Louisiana had no choice but to enforce this law and create legislation in accordance with this act. Until now, Louisiana has had one of the strictest and harshest punishments for the possession of marijuana in the United States. Eight years after the Controlled Substances Act was passed, Louisiana Governor Edwin Edwards signed a law allowing minimal medical marijuana in the state.

What Makes CBD Legal in Louisiana?

While the state has taken slow steps in completely legalizing the use of medical marijuana, the development of decriminalization and even the legalization of recreational marijuana in Louisiana has been even slower. Louisiana had one of the strictest and harshest recreational marijuana restrictions in the United States. Possessing around or less than 14 grams of recreational marijuana in the state could mean staying in prison for 15 days and/or paying a $300 fine.

As the bill stated, medical marijuana could be sold in Louisiana only in non-smokable forms, such as oils and pills. However, medical marijuana would not be dispensed until August 2019, when it was produced and dispensed for the first time by the cannabis growing firm GB Sciences. From this point, Louisiana has joined the likes of California and New York in completely legalizing the use of medical marijuana as treatment for various diseases.

Attitudes on cannabis are starting to change not just in the United States but across the globe. This started with Oregon which was the first US state to decriminalize marijuana in 1973. California was the first to legalize medical marijuana in 1996. And Colorado was the first to legalize recreational marijuana in 2012. However, many people in the state of Louisiana still wonder: is CBD legal in Louisiana?

In spite of this legislation, recreational marijuana in Louisiana was still illegal and medical marijuana was hard to get. This changed in 1991, when Louisiana’s state legislature filed a second bill. It added “spastic quadriplegia” to the list of ailments that could qualify for medical marijuana. Doctors in the state could technically fill prescriptions for certain ailments listed in the bill. But there was no framework on how the product will be grown and distributed in the state. Therefore, this made the procurement of medical marijuana extremely difficult, despite the legislation passed to legalize its use.

Products sold at the retail level must obtain a permit prior to sale from the Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control.

Governor John Bel Edwards signed the legislation into law on June 6. The bill only authorizes the sale of hemp-derived CBD products with a THC concentration of less than 0.3%. Hemp and CBD are still banned from being used in food and drinks.

Baton Rouge — With the passage of House Bill 491, the Louisiana Legislature legalized the sale of hemp and hemp-derived cannabidiol products, more commonly called CBD.

According to officials with the Department’s Office of Public Health, CBD products manufactured, distributed, imported or sold for use in the state of Louisiana are required to be produced from hemp grown in accordance with standards set by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. CBD products must be labeled in accordance with Louisiana’s Food, Drug and Cosmetic Law.

With the legalization of CBD, the Louisiana Department of Health will take an active role in the regulation of the product. On Tuesday, the Department has the responsibility of permitting manufacturers and registering labels for wholesale food and drug products.

The Department, along with the Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control, is working to promulgate formal rules that will provide detailed regulations.