As mentioned, users can purchase CBD products from brick-and-mortar establishments such as food stores and vape shops. In addition, they may buy CBD oil online to ensure high-quality products from known retailers.
On the other hand, industrial hemp CBD is legal for use in the state. Residents may use CBD Mississippi products made from industrial hemp without a doctor’s approval or prescription. In fact, they may visit their local CBD stores and vape shops for hemp-based options. Of course, verify the quality of these products before purchase.
People are allowed to use and buy CBD oil derived from hemp. However, those that were derived from cannabis are only available in stringent conditions. Despite the 2014 Farm Bill allowing the use of CBD under federal law, states like Mississippi choose not to adopt it.
Where to Buy CBD Oil in Mississippi
Verifying a hemp product’s quality mainly involves checking for its Certificate of Analysis (COA). The COA comes from accredited laboratories that specify the amounts of cannabinoids present in the end products.
It’s important to check where manufacturers source the industrial hemp used and how they extract it. It’s best to buy those that are non-GMO certified, third-party lab tested, and 100% organic.
More importantly, consumers should not buy from sources that cannot provide this document.
The law only permits the use of CBD products from cannabis for those suffering epileptic conditions. In addition, the University of Mississippi may use and cultivate it for research purposes.
Patients with MMJ cards should have no issues purchasing CBD in Mississippi once the medical marijuana program commences.
On November 3, 2020, 74% of voters said ‘yes’ to Initiative 65, a measure to legalize medical marijuana.
Moreover, only patients with a debilitating epileptic condition need apply. What if you don’t have a catastrophic seizure disorder or intractable epilepsy? Can you still legally purchase CBD in Mississippi?
Where Can I Buy CBD in Mississippi?
The sale of any amount of cannabis in Mississippi is a felony and carries jail time of up to three years. Once the amount exceeds 500 grams, the maximum sentence increases to 20 years. Incidentally, selling to a minor or within 1500 feet of a church, school, or another designated area, is a felony that carries double prison time and fines.
The 2018 Farm Bill legalized the cultivation of the crop federally. However, the onus is on states to take the first step. This involves submitting a hemp growing program to the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) for approval. Mississippi was one of the few states to hold out on legalizing hemp growing initially.
The 2018 Farm Bill may have legalized industrial hemp cultivation. However, it didn’t permit the use of CBD on a federal level. As a result, each state has different cannabidiol laws. In Mississippi, CBD oil is legal for medical use. That is, as long as a licensed physician in the state obtains it for a patient. The physician must directly supervise the administration of the oil.
HB 1547 legalized CBD products with at least 50mg of CBD per ml. Also, the maximum level of THC is 2.5mg per ml. Therefore, a 30ml bottle of CBD oil must contain at least 1,500mg of CBD and no more than 75mg of THC. In essence, CBD products need to have a CBD to THC ratio of at least 20:1.
The possession of any quantity of CBD is legal as long as the product meets the legal state specifications.
CBD can be sourced either from marijuana or hemp plants and has a wide range of potential therapeutic benefits. Photo by: Gina Coleman/Weedmaps
HB 1547 also established the Mississippi Hemp Cultivation Task Force. This team, led by the Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce, was tasked with undertaking a comprehensive study of hemp’s potential costs and benefits. This clause of the law has a sunset date of July 1, 2020, so the team is expected to make recommendations by this time.
Mississippi CBD possession limits
Current Mississippi law allows for the medical use of low-THC cannabis for patients with qualifying conditions. Photo by: Gina Coleman/Weedmaps
The first offense for possession of fewer than 30 grams of cannabis is a fine of $250, while subsequent offenses are classified as misdemeanors that can earn up to six months in prison and a $1,000 fine.
In 2017, lawmakers passed SB 2610, which allowed the use of CBD in the research of treatment of seizures and other medical conditions but did not legalize it more broadly.
There are no testing requirements for CBD products made outside of Mississippi, so long as they meet the regulations outlined in HB 1547.