So, if hemp and CBD oil made from hemp is legal why did law enforcement conduct Operation Candy Crush?
Rutherford County Sheriff’s deputies closed 23 stores after they were caught allegedly selling candy that contained CBD oil.
Plenty of people know about CBD, using it for everything from a sleep aid to a pain reliever. Such CBD products sold legally in Tennessee do not contain enough product to create a high. It comes from hemp, not marijuana
The defendants in Candy Crush claimed they’ve done nothing wrong.
Questions surrounding the closure of multiple Rutherford County businesses have continued; so NewsChannel 5 found out what is legal and illegal about CBD oil in Tennessee.
He heads up the Botanical Medical Research Center at Middle Tennessee State University, legally cultivating hemp.
“CBD primarily comes from hemp and if you have hemp-derived CBD products that is perfectly legal in the U.S. and Tennessee,” said professor Elliot Altman, who is one of the foremost experts on CBD oil in Tennessee.
If you want to make sure that your source of CBD oil can be trusted, check if they meet the following criteria:
When buying CBD oil in Tennessee, you have two options: you can either purchase it in a local store or do it online in the comfort of your home.
If you can tick off all of them, the company deserves a green light.
BUYING CBD OIL ONLINE IN TENNESSEE
It depends on the source of your CBD oil. CBD can be derived from both marijuana and hemp, and this is where things get complicated.
Before you discover the best CBD oil retailers in Tennessee, we would like to shed light on the in-state legal intricacies around cannabis and hemp.
The most difficult part about buying CBD oil online is finding a trusted manufacturer. Amidst the sea of fly-by-night companies offering inferior CBD products, it can be challenging to find a good retailer.
Here’s what you need to know about buying CBD oil in Tennessee.
Possessing, selling, or consuming recreational marijuana is illegal in the state of Tennessee. The possession of up to a half ounces of marijuana is classified as a misdemeanor carrying a $250 fine and/or a one-year jail term for the first offense. For repeat offenders, they end up with a misdemeanor but risk a $500 fine and/or one-year jail term.
On the other hand, selling or trafficking of marijuana is a felony offense. The penalties will vary depending on the weight.
CBD is legal for purchase and consumption in Tennessee as long as it is derived from the hemp variety of the cannabis plant. “Hemp” refers to cannabis that contains no more than 0.3% THC. CBD oil derived from cannabis that contains more than 0.3% THC is illegal but there are a few exceptions to this rule:
Limitations on Possession of CBD in Tennessee
In 2015, the state passed Senate Bill 280. This bill allowed the use of CBD oil containing less than 0.9% THC by patients suffering from epilepsy and intractable seizures.
There was no legal difference between marijuana, hemp, and all other varieties of the cannabis plant. They were all categorized as Schedule 1 drugs. According to the law, Schedule 1 drugs are substances or chemicals that have little to no accepted medical value and have a high potential for abuse.
As a measure in the war on drugs, industrial hemp was banned under the Controlled Substances Act of 1970. Despite the fact that hemp contained little to no THC content, it was banned due to the fact that it belonged to the same plant species as prohibited cannabis. This effectively made the cultivation of all cannabis illegal.
The following state laws will help you get a clearer picture of the history of the legal status of cannabis, hemp, and CBD in the state of Tennessee.